Office of the Sheriff Terry T. Wagner Sheriff Lancaster County

Todd Duncan Chief Deputy 575 S. 10th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68508-2869 Phone (402) 441-6500 Fax (402) 441-8320



December 5, 2018

Commissioner Todd Wiltgen, Chair Lancaster County Board of Commissioners 555 South 10th Lincoln, NE 68508 RECEIVED

DEC 0 5 2018

LANCASTER COUNTY BOARD

Dear Commissioner Wiltgen,

The employment practices of the deputy sheriffs in my office are governed by the Lancaster County Sheriff's Office Merit Commission, set forth in Ne. Rev. Stat. 23-1721 through 23-1736. There are three members of the Merit Commission serving three year staggered terms; one member is a citizen at large appointed by the Presiding Judge of the District Court; one deputy sheriff elected by the deputy sheriffs in the Office; and the third is an elected official appointed by the Board of Commissioners. Currently, County Assessor/Register of Deeds Norm Agena is the elected official representative on the Commission. His three year term and his elected term of office both expire at the end of 2018, requiring an appointment by the Board of a Lancaster County Elected Official willing to serve in this capacity. I have contacted Troy Hawk, Clerk of the District Court and asked if he would be willing to serve on the Merit Commission, if appointed. He has indicated he would be willing.

I asked Mr. Hawk because of his knowledge of Lancaster County's Personnel practices through his tenure in Office, coupled with his background as an attorney and former Air Force officer. I would appreciate the County Board's consideration of appointing Troy Hawk as the Elected Official on the Lancaster County Sheriff's Office Merit Commission for a term that begins January 1, 2019, expiring December 31, 2021.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Terry T. Wagner

Lancaster County Sheriff

Cc: Troy Hawk

Merit Commission members