MINUTES LANCASTER COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS TUESDAY, MAY 7, 2013 COUNTY-CITY BUILDING, ROOM 303 8:00 A.M.

Advance public notice of the Board of Commissioners meeting was posted on the County-City Building bulletin board and the Lancaster County, Nebraska, web site and emailed to the media on May 3, 2013.

Commissioners present: Larry Hudkins, Chair

Brent Smoyer, Vice Chair

Roma Amundson Jane Raybould Deb Schorr

Others present: Kerry Eagan, Chief Administrative Officer

Gwen Thorpe, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer

Cori Beattie, Deputy County Clerk

The location announcement of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act was given and the meeting was called to order at 8:15 a.m.

Kerry Eagan, Chief Administrative Officer, presented seven interview questions for consideration. He emphasized that the same questions must be asked of each applicant. Amundson suggested a Commissioner be assigned to each question. It was decided that the Chair would begin each interview with a brief opening statement, including a reference to the 30-minute time limit and Board introductions, prior to asking question #1 and would end the interview by asking each candidate why they desired to serve the citizens of Lancaster County. Candidates would also have the opportunity to ask questions. The remaining interview questions were assigned as follows: #2 – Smoyer; #3 and #5 – Amundson; #4 and #7 – Schorr and #6 – Raybould.

With regard to Commissioners' attendance, Schorr said she felt strongly that it would be unfair to the candidates for a Commissioner to be making a hiring decision if he/she were not present for all interviews. Amundson concurred. Eagan reminded the Board that the interviews are being conducted in open session since the appointment of an elected official is very public in nature.

Smoyer arrived at 8:30 a.m.

Eagan gave a brief overview of the statutory duties of the Clerk of the District Court.

Raybould arrived at 8:35 a.m.

Raybould requested that the order of questions #5 and #6 be reversed. There were no objections to the request.

Interviews commenced with the following applicants: Troy Hawk (8:45 a.m.); Darik Von Loh (9:15 a.m.); and Becky Bruckner (9:45 a.m.).

MOTION: Smoyer moved and Raybould seconded to recess the meeting at 10:04 a.m. Schorr, Raybould, Amundson, Smoyer and Hudkins voted aye. Motion carried 5-0.

The Chair reconvened the meeting at 11:30 a.m.

Interviews commenced with the following applicants: Julie Agena (11:30 a.m.); Chuck Salem (12:00 p.m.); John Voyle Hodge (12:30 p.m.); and Robert Van Valkenburg (1:00 p.m.).

Following the interviews, Eagan suggested each Commissioner bring back their top two candidates for consideration at the May 9, 2013 staff meeting.

Raybould said the Board should feel fortunate that so many qualified candidates applied. She also felt that a law background was essential to the position along with administrative management skills. Amundson agreed.

Schorr indicated that, in her opinion, one candidate stood out among the rest. She questioned whether the Board would like to continue discussing the applicants during the current open session or wait until Thursday. There were no objections to continuing the discussion.

Commissioners offered the names of their top two candidates as follows:

Raybould: #1 – Troy Hawk; #2 – Julie Agena Amundson: #1 – Julie Agena; #2 – Troy Hawk Hudkins: #1 – Troy Hawk; #2 – Julie Agena Smoyer: #1 – Troy Hawk; #2 – Chuck Salem Schorr: #1 – Troy Hawk; #2 – Becky Bruckner

There was a general consensus that Troy Hawk was a strong candidate. Schorr added his experience would make an immediate impact with regard to strengthening the office's relationship with the judges. Amundson said she liked Hawk's suggestion to return the Jury Commissioner to the Clerk of the District Court. Raybould also liked Hawk's ability to think "outside the box."

Eagan said following additional discussion at Thursday's staff meeting, a motion will need to be made to place the item on a Tuesday agenda for formal action.

MOTION: Smoyer moved and Amundson seconded to adjourn the meeting at 1:45 p.m. Schorr, Raybould, Amundson, Smoyer and Hudkins voted aye. Motion carried 5-0.

Dan Nolte

Lancaster County Clerk