Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates Get information about City of Lincoln Services and Operations

Visit our new

InterLinc Home Page
City of Lincoln
City of Lincoln
Mayor's Office

2020 Media Releases

September 9, 2020
Media Contact:
Diane Gonzolas, City Communications, 402-525-1520

Task Force Issues Recommendations to Help Local Economy Recover From COVID-19

Mayor Leirion Gaylor Baird and members of the Economic Recovery Task Force today released a report with recommendations to support Lincoln's economic recovery in the face of COVID-19. Mayor Gaylor Baird appointed the 18-member Task Force in May and charged it with developing strategies to support local businesses, workforce development, and sectors of the economy that have been strongly impacted by the pandemic, while fostering public health, inclusion, and resilience in Lincoln.

"In many ways, COVID-19 laid bare some of the deep economic challenges already facing Lincoln, from rising underemployment to declining economic mobility," Mayor Gaylor Baird said. She acknowledged that the road to economic recovery and renewal would not be an easy one, but she noted that we all - residents, employers, and public and private leaders - have a stake in the process and a part to play.

The Task Force's report is available at on the "Business Resources" page. The website also includes summaries of the report in Spanish, Arabic and Vietnamese. The report and related appendix include the results of a Task Force survey that had more than 260 respondents. The survey results informed many of the Task Force's recommendations. The Task force was co-chaired by Ava Thomas, President and Publisher of the Lincoln Journal Star, and Angie Muhleisen, President and CEO of Union Bank & Trust.

The Task Force issued recommendations in six main areas:

Task Force subcommittees were led by Jasmine Kingsley (Local Business Strategies), Cori Sampson Vokoun (Local Workforce Strategies), and Maribel Cruz, Ph.D. (Local Sector Strategies). Other task force members were Marco Barker, Ph.D., Matt Bavougian, Wendy Birdsall, Quentin Brown, William Cintani, John Croghan, Shannon Harner, José Lemus, Susan Martin, Dan Marvin, Kim Russel, Nader Sepahpur, and Bud Synhorst.

Mayor's Office
Media Releases