InterLinc Home Page
city of lincoln  
City of Lincoln
Mayor's Office

2008 Media Releases

July 8, 2008
For More Information Contact:
Doug Ahlberg, Emergency Management, 441-7441
Dave Norris, Citizen Information Center, 441-7547


Homeowners, business owners and renters in Lancaster and Custer County were added Monday to the counties now eligible for federal assistance following the severe storms, tornadoes and floods that began on May 22.

This brings the total number of counties eligible for disaster funds to 15. Individuals can apply if they live, work or own a business in a declared county and suffered damage from the recent storms.

To register for assistance, individuals need to call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY (800) 462-7585 or go on-line at Those who register will receive an application number. FEMA will then direct applicants to take their application number to their local recovery center. The application number will be used to track the individual’s file.

“Assistance will be handled on a case-by-case basis depending on the individual’s insurance coverage,” said Lancaster County Emergency Management Director Doug Ahlberg. “I urge individuals to make that phone call to inquire as to whether or not they are eligible and to allow FEMA to make that determination.”

The declared counties following the May 22 storms are Buffalo, Butler, Colfax, Custer, Dawson, Douglas, Gage, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lancaster, Kearney, Platte, Richardson, Sarpy and Saunders.

FEMA asks residents to register for assistance before going to a recovery center to help speed up the application process.

Mayor's Office    Media Releases