Railroad Quiet Zones

A quiet zone is a minimum one-half mile long railroad corridor containing one or more public roadway crossings where train horns are not routinely sounded. All crossings must have flashing lights, gates, and constant warning before a quiet zone can be established. Train horns may still be sounded in the case of an equipment malfunction or if a person or vehicle is near the tracks.

There are five ways to quiet crossings. These supplemental safety measures are considered equal to use of the train horn.

Raised medians Raised medians prevent motorists from driving around crossing gates. Wayside horn A wayside horn is similar to a locomotive horn, but is directed at drivers and is much quieter outside of the immediate crossing area.

Five-Year Affirmation

Once established, a quiet zone must be re-evaluated periodically to demonstrate that safety requirements continue to be met. A report is submitted every five years for each quiet zone to document the supplemental safety measures that are in effect.

For more information about the requirements that communities must meet in order to implement a Quiet Zone, see the FRA Final Rule.

Lincoln's Quiet Zones

Lincoln has four designated Quiet Zones, which include twelve crossings along the BNSF railroad.

1. North Lincoln Quiet Zone
Four crossings along the BNSF tracks and Cornhusker Highway at:
  • 33rd Street
  • 35th/Adams Street
  • 44th Street
  • 70th Street
2. Lincoln South Salt Creek Quiet Zone
One crossing at 1st and J streets.
3. Lincoln South Quiet Zone
Six crossings, generally along the 3rd street corridor, with crossings at:
  • ā€œDā€ Street
  • South Street
  • Park Blvd
  • Pioneers Blvd.
  • Old Cheney Road
  • South 14th Street
4. Lincoln Satillo Road Quiet Zone
One crossing at Satillo Road, just west of 27th street

Other Lancaster County Quiet Zones

Waverly Quiet Zone
Two crossings along the BNSF tracks and US-6 at:
  • 141st Street
  • 148th Street
Hickman Quiet Zone
The Hickman Quiet Zone includes three crossings:
  • Hickman Road
  • Private Crossing
  • 2nd Street

Re-center mapFull-screen

Map of Quiet Zones in Lancaster County

  • North Lincoln
  • Lincoln South Salt Creek
  • Lincoln South
  • Lincoln Satillo Road
  • Waverly
  • Hickman

Related Links

Federal Railroad Administration
The Train Horn Rule and Quiet Zones